What Are The Penalties For DUI Convictions In Georgia?
According to statute, a first-time DUI in Georgia carries a mandatory minimum of 24 hours in jail, 12 months of reporting probation (which costs between $40 and $50 per month in fees), 40 hours of community service, a 20-hour DUI risk reduction course, fines ranging from $600 to $2,000, and a 120-day license suspension. In addition, many courts will require an evaluation with a licensed counselor or psychologist and the completion of any recommended treatment. Attendance at a victim impact panel might also be required, where stories are shared by individuals who have been negatively affected by intoxicated drivers. Some courts will disallow the use of alcohol and order random urine testing during the probationary period. A second-time DUI within 10 years carries a minimum sentence of three days in jail, 240 hours or 30 days of community service, 12 months of reporting probation, fines in the amount of $1,200 to $2,000, attendance at DUI school, a 120-day license suspension, and a drug and alcohol evaluation and the completion of any recommended treatment.
A person who receives a second-time DUI within five years of the first will be required to have an ignition interlock device in their vehicle, which will require them to provide a breath sample prior to starting their vehicle and periodically during the operation of their vehicle. A third-time DUI within five years carries the same penalties as a second-time DUI with the exception of a mandatory minimum of 15 days in jail, as well as a five-year license revocation. The individual would be restricted from driving under any circumstances for two years; after two years, they may be granted a limited permit, which would allow them to drive to and from work, school, or medical appointments within the state of Georgia with breath device or interlock installed in any car they operate. A fourth DUI is a felony, which carries a sentence of five years in prison in addition to all of the penalties associated with a third DUI.
How Can Having A DUI Conviction Impact My Commercial Driver’s License?
A first-time DUI will result in a one-year disqualification for a commercial driver’s license, as well as the loss of the plastic license. A second-time DUI will result in lifetime disqualification for a commercial driver’s license.
How Are Other People With Professional Licenses Impacted By A DUI Conviction?
Every professional licensing board differs, but receiving one DUI will generally not result in the loss of a professional license. For example, if a nurse were to receive a first-time DUI, they would likely be put on probation but would not lose their nursing license. If a pilot receives a DUI, they could lose their pilot’s license by failing to report the DUI on their medical examination certificate paperwork. If a pilot were to have their license administratively suspended or if they were to be convicted, then they could lose their pilot’s license. Some financial stockbroker insurance licenses and government security clearances can be impacted by a DUI conviction. Members of the military could potentially lose their careers as a result of getting a DUI, but it would depend on their base commander.
For more information on Penalties For A DUI Conviction In Georgia, a free initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (770) 961-5511.
Call Now For A Case Evaluation